Friday Favorites 7/5/2013

In an attempt to keep one part of this blog consistent, and already failing at one point, I’m going to keep up with my Friday Favorites and list a few things that had me truly enjoying this past week. I feel as if I am traveling full speed ahead with no intention of slowing down or stopping lately which has pros and cons attached to it. Between cover letter writing, preparing for interviews, and learning what it truly means to be a supervisor, I have a lot on my plate. I’ve been attempting to have some sort of social life which has surprisingly led to some wonderful new friends.

So, here are a few of my favorite things:

0703131900

0703131900b

mms_picture (3) 
There are few things more satisfying than a baby chick sitting on your shoulder (willingly!) and being able to watch hens grow into full chickens. While my chickens are living the high class life out at the farm, my friend also rescued these little ladies so that they didn’t lose their home. I’ve been working on a chicken coop for them, as well as for others, and could not get over how cuddly these hens were! Mine weren’t cuddly at all but they also weren’t handled much which is all part of having personable chickens. While being on the farm is enough to keep me smiling for days, a mixture of power tools, muscle, and being creative also helps.

Also, notice that nice scrape on my forehead? I was assisting in the assembly of a greenhouse roof when I, quite literally, slammed my head into horizontal support beams. Twice. Within an hour and a half of each other. I’m almost positive that I managed to give myself a concussion from it as self-diagnosis is a good way to keep things fresh and exciting in life. Honestly though, the dizziness and confusion that followed the next few days were ridiculous and not enjoyable since I work outside. It’s looking better though!

0704132152

mms_picture (2)
These are dark, I apologize for that, but the enjoyment of watching a toddler’s reaction to fireworks is something I will never again take for granted. Especially when she continually shifted between being scared of the noise and being mesmerized by the colors. Yesterday’s holiday was a needed day off of work and I got to spend it with some great friends and my friend’s daughter.

0701132212
Sarahmonster! I saw my sister this week for the first time in a while and our time together was long overdue. It’s a shame that our lives are busy and free time is so limited. The balance of free time and friends is definitely something that I need to adjust to and learn how to handle better. I’m working on it and, in the mean time, will not take these moments for granted.

Have a great weekend, everyone! I will be writing cover letters for available positions, tackling the job hunt, and working. There’s no rest for this lady.

This entry was posted in Friday Favorites by chroniclesofcarolyn. Bookmark the permalink.

About chroniclesofcarolyn

Licensed Social Worker. Runner. MSSW from the University of Louisville. Clinical therapist at a psychiatric residential treatment facility focusing on the treatment of juvenile sex offenders. Attempting to become domesticated, learn how to cook, and encompassing a passion for running, social work and the environment.