Hit the ground running on a rainy day

Without being home for even 24 hours, I managed to rip my room apart and paint my closet for no reason other than being sick of the dull yellow that had been its color for over 20 years. I have an exam to study for, an important one at that, but I’m more content in a confined space and covered in paint.

IMG_1187For the 2.5 seconds that I was studying for my boards, I had a study partner.

Here’s hoping for the forecasted 74 degree weather tomorrow in order to get a run in on my home turf. I need to focus on my IT band issues and be ready to roll them out at all costs . . . even the painful costs. Anyone have any tips and tricks for working with IT band issues? For years I’ve been told that my issues are all Runner’s Knee or Patellofemoral related and have begun attempting research of my own as my pain is usually in several areas. There are a couple sources that speak about my issues including this article about the difference between patellofemoral syndrome and IT band syndrome as well as this Runner’s World article that describes the symptoms, causes, and ways of preventing IT Band Syndrome. As of now though, my rollers have become my new best friends. I wish I was kidding but I’m not.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by chroniclesofcarolyn. Bookmark the permalink.

About chroniclesofcarolyn

Licensed Social Worker. Runner. MSSW from the University of Louisville. Clinical therapist at a psychiatric residential treatment facility focusing on the treatment of juvenile sex offenders. Attempting to become domesticated, learn how to cook, and encompassing a passion for running, social work and the environment.